Philanthropy Day 2019

Thank you to everyone who helped make our annual Philanthropy Day Luncheon a meaningful gathering of diverse communities!


From longtime event sponsors to our fantastic Host Committee and board members to guests from all over Central Virginia to our keynote speaker Maurice A. Jones, the room was full of the people who champion the transformative impact of philanthropy in our region.

Although Maurice is currently the president & CEO of national capacity builder Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC), he shared why—from growing up on a tobacco farm in rural southern Virginia to attending UVA School of Law—the Commonwealth will always be his home. He stressed the impact that the philanthropy—in time, talent, and treasure—of his grandparents, eighth grade science teacher, and university donors had on his life.

Watch the complete video of Maurice’s remarks below.

Thank you to our sponsors!

  • Sustainer of Excellence

    Kakie Brooks and George Beller

    Wendy Brown

    The Rimora Foundation

  • Pillar of Excellence

    The Caplin Foundation

    John and Josephine Dumm

    Pam and Frank Edmonds

    Dana and Peter Harris

    Bebe Heiner

    Kelley MacDougall and Mike Pausic

  • Leader in Excellence

  • Investors in Excellence

    David and Carolyn Beach

    Charlottesville Area Community Foundation

    Carter Myers Automotive

    Charlottesville Tomorrow

    The Curtis Group

    Declan Murphy and Molly Pyle

    Jefferson School Foundation

    Joe and Sally Gieck

    New Hill Development Corporation

    Northwestern Mutual – Taylor Associates

    Piedmont Virginia Community College

    St. Anne’s-Belfield School

    Tech Dynamism

    Tim and Margaret Rose

    University of Virginia Foundation

    WestWind Foundation

Thank you to community members and friends who have additionally donated in support of Philanthropy Day: D.N. Batten Foundation, Saphira Baker, CFA Institute, Trish Cluff, Christine Hollins, Christine Jacobs, T&N Printing, and Alton Taylor.

All photos courtesy of Jeffrey Gleason Photography

Host Committee

Host Committee Chairs

Holly Hatcher, Philanthropy Consultant

Justin Reid, Virginia Humanities

Host Committee Members

Beverly Adams, UVA Department of Psychology

Dave Alley, Tech Dynamism

Andrea Ayres, Signature Family Wealth Advisors

Warren Buford, St. Anne’s-Belfield School

Chip Boyles, Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission

Elizabeth Cromwell, Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce

Daniel Fairley, City of Charlottesville

Athena Gould, Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Central Blue Ridge

André Luck, Piedmont Virginia Community College

Louis Nelson, UVA Academic Outreach

Elizabeth Piper, Virginia Humanities

Katie Shevlin, UVA Advancement

Alton Taylor, Community Member

Contact Operations Manager, Ian Coppage, for more information!