Curriculum

Reflective Management Seminars

The Reflective Management seminars cover a variety of topics important to new managers, beginning with some basic theories of management and leadership. We’ll discuss how to manage ourselves through self-awareness and time management. And we’ll talk about how to manage others and working through some ideas on how to best manage others—both “below” and “above” us in the chain of command.

Before each of the three sessions you’ll be asked to complete a set of short readings that will form the basis for discussion. Moments of personal reflection and group activities will provide participants with opportunities to work out their ideas and practice new skills.

Through this series of workshops you will:

  • Grow your understanding of the knowledge, skills, and values necessary for good management,
  • Reflect on and better understand your own skills and values relevant to management,
  • Express your insights in a personal Management Philosophy Statement,
  • Produce a Learning Plan to successfully guide you through Management Academy in a timely fashion,
  • Develop a Professional Development Plan to map out your goals within your current organization and how to achieve them, and
  • Build strong professional connections.

Reflective Management I: Management and Leadership, Thursday, September 15, 2016
Reflective Management II: Managing Ourselves, Thursday, January 12, 2017
Reflective Management III: Managing Others, Thursday, May 18, 2017

CNE Program Manager, Andrew Robinson, will lead all Reflective Management workshops.

 

Core Competency Workshops

The following list includes all current CNE offerings that can fulfill Management Academy core competency requirements. Participants should select one workshop from each of the six core competency areas (Development & Philanthropy, Evaluation, Finance, Governance & Strategy, Human Resources & Personnel Management, and Marketing). For full descriptions please click on the hyperlinked title of a workshop. Additional trainings may become available later in the year.

Title

Competency Area

Date

The Annual Fund Development & Philanthropy Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Winning the Marketing Marathon: Branding, Messaging, and Strategy Marketing & Communications Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Basics of Nonprofit Accounting Finance Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Mindful Leadership Human Resources & Personnel Management Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Developing a Mindset of Power-With Leadership Human Resources & Personnel Management Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Creating Surveys for Program Evaluation Evaluation Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Donor Database Comparison & Conversion Development & Philanthropy Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Building a Marketing Pland and Channel Strategy Marketing & Communications Thursday, November 10, 2016
Donor Database Software Optimization Development & Philanthropy Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Improv for Leadership Human Resources & Personnel Management Thursday, December 1, 2016
Board-Staff Partnership Governance & Strategy Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Using Storytelling and Blogs to Increase Impact Marketing & Communications/Philanthropy & Development Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Budgeting Basics: The What, Why & How Finance Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Building Resilience for Yourself and Your Team HR & Personnel Management Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Grant Writing Nuts & Bolts Development & Philanthropy Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Discovering Your Leadership Style Human Resources & Personnel Management Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Strengthen Your Board Building Cycle Governance & Strategy Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Transform Interpersonal Conflict into Connected Communication Human Resources & Personnel Management Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Impact Maps: Tools that Demonstrate Outcomes Evaluation Tuesday, April 11, 2017

© Center for Nonprofit Excellence 2017
Designed and developed by Convoy

Contact Us

Center for Nonprofit Excellence
1701-A Allied Street
Charlottesville, VA 22903
434.244.3330

Office Hours

Mon – Thurs: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Fri: 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM